top of page

Finding Freedom (Part 1)

Hello Beautiful Friend!

I pray that this blog brings you joy, encouragement, and inspiration.

In the past few weeks have been learning a lot. About life, work, family, God, racial reconciliation, friendships, family, and the list goes on.

A couple weeks ago, I had posted "Harmony and Unity (Part 2)", but I am going to save that post for another time. If you're like me, you REALLY want to know how you can help America and all her people live in better harmony. I am still on the journey to learn how it looks for me to pursue that, so I am going to keep learning. A little later I'll let you know how it's going and tell you the things that I am trying to apply to my life.

Recently, I have been reading through Romans 8 a lot. This chapter is one of my favorites because it reminds me of truth, but it is also so incredibly challenging. Here we go!

"So now there is no condemnation for those who belong to Christ Jesus. And because you belong to Him, the power of the life-giving Spirit has freed you from the power of sin that leads to death. So God did what the law could not do. He sent His own Son in a body like the bodies we sinners have. And in that body God declared an end to sin's control over us by giving his Son as a sacrifice for our sins. He did this so that the just requirement of the law would be fully satisfied for us, who no longer follow our sinful nature but instead follow the Spirit". -Romans 8:1-5 NLT

People, if we know in our heart that Jesus's sacrifice brings us forgiveness for our sins, if we've prayed to God and told Him that we are sorry for our sin, then GOD DOES NOT CONDEMN US! God cannot condemn you if he has forgiven you. When God looks at you, He sees the price His Son paid to cover the price of your sin. To think that God is somehow angry at us for not obeying Him 100% is a lie. God knows that it's not possible for a human to do anything perfect, nevertheless, obey a perfect God perfectly. I have struggled with believing this lie because I have many perfectionist tendencies. But God does not see my sin and think, "Well Kaela is just so stupid. I wish I never made her. She is just too sinful". NO! I'm sure God sees my sin, but He doesn't stop there. He says, "Kaela sinned again, but I forgive her because she has chosen to follow my Son, Jesus".

Because I belong to the family of God, I am set free by the Holy Spirit from the grip of sin's power over my life. Sin leads to death, but Jesus conquered death when He died and then rose again!

The next verses explain what God did through Jesus to save us from our sin. Jesus was born in a human body so that He would grow up and obey God's plan. Jesus loved His Father (and us) so much that He would go through the worst death so that we can be free. Jesus died on the cross and rose again so that God can declare that SIN HAS NO POWER OVER US.

I want to be free from sin's hold. I want to let God lead my life. I need to know that I AM FREE!

Think about that truth this week. Think about how God has freed you from the power of sin. Let that change the way you think and live.

Right now, I hope to continue talking about Romans 8, so check back in a few weeks if you liked this post. I pray that God will teach you as much as He has taught me from Romans 8.

As always, Kaitlyn and I would love to hear from you on Instagram (@thejoysblog) or you can email us at (thejoysblog@gmail.com). I hope you have a difficult week that grows your character! I will talk to you soon!

bottom of page