top of page

Promises of God (Part 2)

Hey Joy Fam!

Today I'm finishing a short series of posts called "Promises of God". If you haven't read the first part yet, go back and read it. Note: this post will make a lot more sense if you do.

I’m guessing that 75% of you aren't gonna go back and read the first post, so I'll just give a brief recap. ;)

Last time we talked about the battle between the Israelites and the town of Ai as described in Joshua 8. The LORD told Joshua that He would give Israel the victory in this battle. God also told Joshua to hold out his spear toward the city until Israel won. As I was thinking about this, God gave me the idea of holding onto His promises as our “spear”. I thought about how hard it would be to hold out a spear at arm’s length for an entire battle without letting go. This reminded me that sometimes it can get very tiring to hold onto God’s promises.

Two weeks ago, we looked at Isaiah 41:9-10 and saw that God tells us not to fear or be discouraged because He promises to be near to us, help us, hold us up, and strengthen us.

I guess I'm doing this out of order, because today we’re going to talk about Isaiah 40. As I was trying to decide which promise to talk about today, I read though Isaiah 40. I am certain that this is what God wants to share with you today because part of it spoke straight to my heart.

Isaiah 40: 25-31 NLT (emphasis added)

25 “To whom will you compare me? Who is my equal?” asks the Holy One.

26 Look up into the heavens. Who created all the stars? He brings them out like an army, one after another, calling each by its name. Because of his great power and incomparable strength, not a single one is missing.

27 O Jacob, how can you say the Lord does not see your troubles? O Israel, how can you say God ignores your rights?

28 Have you never heard? Have you never understood? The Lord is the everlasting God, the Creator of all the earth. He never grows weak or weary. No one can measure the depths of his understanding.

29 He gives power to the weak and strength to the powerless.

30 Even youths will become weak and tired, and young men will fall in exhaustion.

31 But those who trust in the Lord will find new strength. They will soar high on wings like eagles. They will run and not grow weary. They will walk and not faint.

Did you just read that? Go back and read that passage slowly one more time!

Verse 27 especially sticks out to me.

“How can I say that the LORD does not see my trouble”?

“How can I say God ignores my rights”?

“Have I not read the Bible? Do I not know the God I serve”?

I have complained SO much during the last many weeks. I have complained to my sister. I have complained to my friends, to my mom, to my family at the supper table, and to God.

It is healthy to tell God your complaints, but I should not drag my family and friends down with my complaints. “How can I say that the LORD does not see my trouble”?

My Daddy (God), who made the stars, also made me. My Daddy is the Creator of the world. If He knows the stars by name, surely He knows my name. I believe that God loves me and knows my problems. I can talk to Him about my problems and renew my trust in His Sovereignty in everything.

Since I'm serving THAT God, I don’t need to (and should not) complain about my circumstances. The reminder that God gives strength to those who trust in Him gives me peace. Now I believe that God has the power to give me the strength I need to face each day.

No one can understand the wisdom of my Daddy. My Daddy is all-powerful. He gives His power to those who trust in Him. I will give my problems and my trust to Him. I need the fresh strength that comes from God.

Verses 29 and 30 show that people who trust in their own strength will fall. I have been relying on my own strength for the last while, and that is why I have become tired and weak. I fell because I was relying on myself to do what only God can do.

Friend, do not rely on your own strength. I have tried countless times and each time I failed miserably.

Trust in God, and He will give you the new strength that you need for each day. Our God is great. He is amazingly powerful. He gives us strength when we trust that He is in control and that He is who He says He is.

Please reach out to us at our email (thejoysblog@gmail.com) or Instagram (@thejoysblog). We would love to know how we can best pray for you! Let us know if you learned anything from this post and how God is working in your life. I pray that you hold on tightly to this promise from the LORD.

bottom of page