top of page

Hosanna! Hosanna!

Hey there!

As we approach Easter this year, things are extremely different from the previous ones. We aren't able to gather with huge sides of the family, travel through the countryside, go to church, and we may not even get to make all the food we want. But let me ask you a question: What is important? I know this is an extremely blunt and short question. However, I do think that it can get your mind rolling in the correct direction. You see, we tend to value things here on earth way more than heavenly and eternal things. It's so easy to get caught up on the good food, the family time, or an encouraging sermon on the resurrection. I'm not saying that those are bad things. I just want us to remember what we are truly finding our joy in during this time.

I can tell you honestly, I do love my family too much sometimes. What do I mean? It's so easy to find my joy in their encouraging words, or even in their discouraging ones. If they say something kind, it makes my day! If they say something hurtful, it makes me sad or even angry at times. I take their comments and often take those words to find joy in, rather than finding my joy in the one whose comments always preach the truth. So when Easter brunch comes around, should I be disappointed because there's only a few of us at the table, without the whole clan? No, I shouldn't. Because where do I place my hope? My hope is in Jesus Christ! Can I get an amen?!?!?

Trust me, I'm going to miss all of the things we've gotten to enjoy in the past. The triumphant hymns sung by the congregation, the loud voice of our pastor saying, "It is finished!" , and all of my cousins and aunts and uncles gathered to pray at the dinner table. Nevertheless, this will probably be one of the greatest Easter's I've ever lived for yet. How in the world is that? Because, I've realized what's important. And you can too. Let's take a look at the important aspects of Easter!

Isaiah 49:7

"Thus saith the LORD, the Redeemer of Is'-ra-el, and his Ho'-ly One, to him whom man despiseth, to him whom the nation abhorreth, to a servant of rulers, Kings shall see and arise, princes also shall worship, because of the LORD that is faithful, and the Ho'-ly One of Is'-ra-el, and he shall choose thee."

Isaiah 53:1-4

" Who hath believed our report? and to whom is the arm of the LORD revealed?

For he shall grow up before him as a tender plant, and as a root out of a dry ground: he hath no form nor comeliness; and when we shall see him, there is no beauty that we should desire him.

He is despised and rejected of men; a man of sorrows, and acquainted with grief: and we hid as it were our faces from him; he was despised, and we esteemed him not.

Surely he hath borne our griefs, and carried our sorrows: yet we did esteem him stricken, smitten of God, and afflicted."

John 11:49-52

"And one of them, named Cai'-a-phas, being the high priest that same year, said unto them, Ye know nothing at all,

Nor consider that it is expedient for us, that one man should die for the people, and that the whole nation perish not.

And this spake he not of himself: but being high priest that year, he prophesied that Je'-sus should die for that nation;

And not for that nation only, but that also he should gather together in one the children of God that were scattered abroad."

Written above are only a few of the prophesies that told how Jesus would die for the whole world. As you can read in your Bible, Jesus, born of the virgin Mary grew up into a man. He went through this life on earth to demonstrate His love for us. He went through death to demonstrate His love for us. How absolutely incredible is it that He knows our suffering? He sees your hardships. He sees the temptation and He understands because He's been through it all. Yet He did not sin. Throughout the Bible God goes through and inspires individuals to write about Jesus and His miracles. I'm going to skip through all of that because you should read that on your own. :)

I will now start back up in the dusty, busy streets of Jerusalem.

John 12:12-15

"On the next day much people that were come to the feast, when they heard that Je'-sus was coming to Jeru'-sa-lem,

Took branches of palm trees, and went forth to meet him, and cried, Ho-san'na: Blessed is the King of Is'-ra-el that cometh in the name of the Lord. And Je'-sus, when he had found a young ass, sat thereon; as it is written,

Fear no, daughter of Si'-on: behold, the King cometh, sitting on an ass's colt."

John 12:23-32

"And Je'-sus answered them, saying, The hour is come, that the Son of man should be glorified.

Verily, verily, I say unto you, Except a corn of wheat fall into the ground and die, it abideth alone: but if it die, it bringeth forth much fruit.

He that loveth his life shall lose it; and he that hateth his life in this world shall keep it unto life eternal.

If any man serve me, let him follow me; and where I am, there shall also my servant be: if any man serve me, him will my Father honour.

Now is my soul troubled; and what shall I say? Father, save me from this hour: but for this cause came I unto this hour.

Father, glorify thy name. Then came there a voice from heaven, saying, I have both grlorified it, and will glorify it again.

The people therefore, that stood by, and heard it, said that it thundered: others said, An angel spake to him.

Je'-sus answered and said, This voice came not because of me, but for your sakes.

Now is the judgment of this world: now shall the prince of this world be cast out.

And I, if I be lifted up from the earth, will draw all men unto me."

Eventually Jesus and His disciples partake in the last supper together. Then, Judas betrays Jesus and we end up at the scene of Jesus' persecution.

Isaiah 53:5-12

"But he was wounded for our transgressions, he was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon him; and with his stripes we are healed.

All we like sheep have gone astray; we have turned ever one to his own way; and the LORD hath laid on him the iniquity of us all.

He was oppressed, and he was afflicted, yet he opened no his mouth: he is brought as a lamb to the slaughter, and as a sheep before her shearers is dumb, so he openeth not his mouth.

He was taken from prison and from judgement: and who shall declare his generation? for he was cut off out of the land of the living: for the transgression of my people was he stricken.

And he made his grave with the wicked, and with the rich in his death; because he had done no violence, neither was any deceit in his mouth.

Yet it pleased the LORD to bruise him; he hath put him to grief: when thou shalt make his soul an offering for sin, he shall see his seed, he shall prolong his days, and the pleasure of the LORD shall prosper in his hand.

He shall see of the travail of his soul, and shall be satisfied: by his knowledge shall my righteous servant justify many; for he shall bear their iniquities.

Therefore will I divide him a portion with the great, and he shall divide the spoil with the strong; because he hath poured out his soul unto death: and he was numbered with the transgressors; and he bare the sin of many, and made intercession for the transgressors."

If you've read this far in this post, you might be starting to get the picture. Look at all of the blue highlights on the page. This is only a sliver of God's word. I don't know about you, but after reading about Jesus conquering death, I want to praise Him. I literally could cry out to Him day and night for His goodness and grace to us. Do you realize what all of this is about? Jesus. Jesus is the most important aspect of all during Easter. It's not the Easter eggs, or the family time, or the football game. It is to sit at the feat of our King. The King who humbled Himself for our sake to save us from all of this. To save us from death itself! Sin, pain, hurt, crying, disease, famine, and everything this feeble world can throw at us is conquered in Jesus name! Hallelujah!

So after all this, you may be wondering what you can actually do on Easter. Here are some ideas for you!

-Worship: Remember how you got true life! Praise the Lord for His goodness and salvation.

-Pray: Spend some time praying that God would open other people's hearts to this truth. Pray that God would open your heart to the truth. Thank Him for all He's done for the world and in your life.

-Search God's word: Did you see how many scripture verses I was able to find just in one post? There is so so much more! Look and see for yourself! I want to challenge you to read at least ten chapters on Easter related to Jesus and His life, death, and resurrection.

-Tell others the truth: Share it friend! When you know the truth, you hold the key for so many other people. Don't hide it, be open about Jesus with everyone you know. Send a text, face-time a friend, post it on social media. Use everything you can to share Jesus with this world.

-Say what you're thankful for: There's no better way to get your eyes off yourself than through thankfulness. Think of how much God has blessed you and thank Him!

-Make some good food: Hey now, just because you can't have everything doesn't mean you can't try something else. Bake something new! Cook with a family member. Try new healthier recipes. There are endless opportunities to cure your boredom in the kitchen!

-Get outside: Go for a walk or a hike.

-Do an art project: Draw or paint a Bible verse. Make it the best you can! Or try doing an art contest with your family!

I hope those ideas are helpful! I just want to remind you, that you're not alone during this crazy time. Trust me, I pray all of this will be done soon. But I beg you, don't waste this precious time. God planned it this way for a reason! Value what's important this Easter. And that is to value Jesus and His incredible gift of salvation. He has risen indeed! Hallelujah!

Please reach out to us at our email (thejoysblog@gmail.com), Instagram (thejoysblog), or the comment section below. We would love to know how we can best pray for you! Let us know if you learned anything from this post and how God is working in your life. Have a wonderful Easter ya'll! Let's make it the best one yet!

bottom of page